How To Find and Harness Film Data

Renowned film data analyst Stephen Follows teaches you how to find film data and analyse it to your advantage

Enrollment closes in

7 days

20 hours

14 mins

Stephen Follows

with

Stephen Follows

Featured in The NY Times, Guardian, Variety, and more | Film Industry Consultant

Sign Up for a Free Course Preview

Be the first to hear about course updates including invites to upcoming webinars and samples of course material.

A pattern of wavy dots

Over four weeks, film data whiz Stephen Follows shows you how to arm yourself with data to make sense of the film industry.


Whether you're making, buying, selling or studying films, take control of your journey by digging into the data yourself.

See what people are saying

        I enjoy reading Stephen’s analysis of the film business for its unique and useful insight into our industry and would happily recommend his writing to all filmmakers and film professionals
Eric Fellner
Eric Fellner
Producer and Founder, Working Title
        Stephen’s research is brilliant. No-one is doing data-driven analysis of the film industry quite like Stephen Follows. His detailed research and reporting about the film industry is unique and invaluable.
Jonathan Wolf
Jonathan Wolf
Head of the American Film Market
        Stephen Follows’ film data research is second to none. He provides modern analyses that inform new insights on filmmaking and the film industry, while retaining a deep respect for the craft. If you’re making or selling a film, you’d be crazy not learn from Stephen.
Regina E. Dugan
Regina E. Dugan
Ex-director of the Defence Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)
        Stephen Follows brings deep research and long experience to his understanding of trends in the film industry, both large and small. At TIFF, I've found his insights illuminating, and I can imagine how much he has to offer to filmmakers.
Cameron Bailey
Cameron Bailey
CEO of the Toronto International Film Festival
        Stephen drills down on data to discover truths about the film industry. Totally worth a read.
Ted Hope
Ted Hope
Ex-Head of Production, Amazon Original Movies
        For an in-depth look at what is really happening to the film industry and to gauge the next step in the current marketplace I always turn first to see what Stephen Follows has observed!
Elliot Grove
Elliot Grove
Founder BIFA / Raindance

Who is this course for

01

Trend spotters reading the industry and breaking influential stories

02

Film professionals furthering their careers by staying ahead of the curve

03

Analysts and researchers understanding the quirks of consumer behaviour and film data

Meet your instructor

Stephen Follows
Stephen Follows
Film Data Analyst

I have spent the past decade analysing the film industry, studying which films work and why.


My research has been cited in the vast majority of news outlets and I’ve advised celebrities, studios, investors, academics and filmmakers.


What drives me is a passion to reveal and understand how the film industry works, and empower others to do that too.


The most common question I get asked is "Where do you find your data?".


The honest answer is... "All over the place!"


The vast majority is available to all and I'm keen to help show you what I've learned over a decade of film data research and analysis.


For the first time, I've distilled this understanding into a course aimed at specifically helping people like you understand how to find, analyse and use film data.


Stephen | stephenfollows.com

What's in the course?

12 sessions over 4 weeks, and on-demand
  • Live training
    Mon 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm UK

    Live teaching from Stephen, as well as peer-to-peer breakout rooms and exercises.

  • Expert interviews
    Wed 10am PT / 1pm ET / 6pm UK

    A live interview and Q&A with an expert in the film data field.

  • Deeper dives
    Wed 11:30am PT / 2:30pm ET / 7:30pm UK

    Stephen will dig deeper into some of the topics covered that week, and be available for personal feedback and support on your projects.

  • Peer-to-peer network
    On-going

    Connect with other people exploring film data projects, extend your network and find collaborators.

  • Lots of raw data and resources
    On-going

    Access to a directory of sources for reports and film data, including downloads of raw film data covering, including streaming data.

Learning is better with cohorts

Learning is better with cohorts
Active, not passive

This course focuses on live workshops and hands-on projects

Learn with a cohort of peers

You’ll be learning in public through breakout rooms and an engaged community

Learn with a cohort of peers

Surround yourself with like-minded people who want to grow alongside you

Frequently Asked Questions

What happens if I can’t make a live session?
What is the expected time commitment?
What’s the refund policy?

Cost

$749 USD