Data Mastery for Product Managers

4.8

(47 ratings)

3 Weeks

Cohort-based Course

Make better decisions and build more impactful products by mastering your data. Learn data model, experiment, ML fundamental in 3 weeks 馃敟

Course overview

You've been focusing on the wrong data skills.

When people talk about "learning data", they usually mean "learning to analyze the data you already have". But what if you don't even have the necessary data to begin with, because you didn't make the right decisions as you were building your products?


In my experience building products over a decade, I've made and dealt with mistakes around data that hinder product development. Yes, it happens even at Meta 馃槺


In this 3-week course, we will go back to the fundamentals, tear down the jargon, and deeply understand the data structure behind your products. You'll learn to ask the right questions and put the right constraints to ensure your product is set up for success.


Each week, you will have:

- 90 mins of live session dedicated to hands-on exercises and deep dives to put the concept into practice. This is at 5pm GMT/12pm EST/9am PST.

- NEW: 45 mins of recorded content you can review in your own time before the live session.

- NEW: 2 x 45 mins of optional Q&A and project guidance at Australia/Asia/West Coast-friendly timezones.

- Hands-on projects and assignments to deepen your understanding.

- Individual feedback on your projects and assignments from me.

Who this course is for

01

Product managers, designers, UX-ers looking to deepen their product craft and make better decisions by utilizing data

02

Non-technical founders looking to ensure their product's data structure is optimized for future innovation

03

Business leaders looking to interact more effectively with the product and tech teams

What you鈥檒l learn in this course

Understand your product's data model

Interact with the engineers more effectively and ensure your product's success by understanding the data model behind your product.

Ensure robust success measurement

Define the right success metrics for your product, monitor impact to business outcomes, and design a robust experiment.

Identify opportunities for machine learning & automation

Scale and future-proof your product by utilizing data. Identify the right opportunities to ensure that you start gathering the right data ASAP.

Course syllabus

7 live sessions 鈥 3 lessons 鈥 20 lessons 鈥 3 projects
Expand all modules
  • Week 1

    Nov 22鈥擭ov 26

    Week dates are set to instructor's time zone

    Events

    • Nov

      22

      Session 1: Data Model Fundamentals

      Wed, Nov 22, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM UTC

    Modules

    • Session 1: Data Model Fundamentals

  • Week 2

    Nov 27鈥擠ec 3

    Week dates are set to instructor's time zone

    Events

    • Nov

      27

      Optional: Session 1 Office Hour (Asia/Europe timezone)

      Mon, Nov 27, 8:00 AM - 8:45 AM UTC

    • Nov

      27

      Optional: Session 1 Office Hour (Europe/America timezone)

      Mon, Nov 27, 8:00 PM - 8:45 PM UTC

    • Nov

      29

      Session 2: Metrics and Experiment Design

      Wed, Nov 29, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM UTC

    Modules

    • Session 2: Metrics and Experiment Design

  • Week 3

    Dec 4鈥擠ec 6

    Week dates are set to instructor's time zone

    Events

    • Dec

      4

      Optional: Session 2 Office Hour (Europe/America timezone)

      Mon, Dec 4, 8:00 PM - 8:45 PM UTC

    • Dec

      6

      Session 3: Identifying Machine Learning Opportunities

      Wed, Dec 6, 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM UTC

    Modules

    • Session 3: Identifying Machine Learning Opportunities

  • Post-Course

    Events

    • Dec

      11

      Optional: Session 3 Office Hour (Europe/America timezone)

      Mon, Dec 11, 8:00 PM - 8:45 PM UTC

4.8

(47 ratings)

What students are saying

Free resource

Module 1 Preview: Data Model Fundamentals

Curious to learn more? Here's a quick preview of the first module: data model fundamentals.

Get the course preview

Meet your instructor

Debbie Widjaja

Debbie Widjaja

A seasoned product leader with over 12 years of experience in the tech world, I thrive on solving complex problems:


I crystalize my product thinking on Medium (130k+ readers) and offer 1:1 coaching and mentorship whenever I have some free time.

A pattern of wavy dots
Be the first to know about upcoming cohorts

Data Mastery for Product Managers

|

Bulk purchases

Level up your impact by mastering data

Level up your impact by mastering data

Speak confidently about technical concepts

Stop zoning out when your data scientists are talking about machine learning, or when your engineers are talking about data models.


Carve out your unique value in the product team

Understand the sharp insights and POV you can bring as a non-technical person to the team.

Make better product decisions

Connect the dots between product vision and implementations through the language of data, metrics, and measurements.

Course schedule

3-4 hours per week
  • Live sessions: Every Wednesday for 3 weeks

    5-7pm GMT/12-2pm EST/9-11am PST

    We'll waste no time and get straight to the core: Applying the frameworks you've learned through the recorded videos and focusing on hands-on exercises and practices.


    The sessions will be recorded if you can't make it, and I also host office hours / project walk-through and Q&A

  • NEW: Recorded videos (watch before live sessions)

    卤45mins in your own time

    Youll learn the fundamental concepts and frameworks through these videos. Make sure you watch them before the live sessions so we can get going!

  • Projects and case studies

    卤1 hour in your own time

    This is completely optional, but I strongly encourage it if you want to take your learning to the next level. Apply what you've learned to your own product or company.

  • Personalized project feedback

    Asynchronous

    I know peer-to-peer feedback can be unreliable. That's why I always spend a good amount of time reviewing your projects and assignments and giving individual feedback.

  • NEW: (Optional) Project walk-through and Q&A

    2 x 45 mins - come and ask questions

    Some of my students are based in Australia and Asia, some other students have obligations which means they have to miss the live sessions. I added two more optional sessions @45 mins each week:

    • 8am GMT / 4pm Singapore time / 6pm Sydney time
    • 8pm GMT / 4pm EST / 1pm PST

Frequently Asked Questions

Can my company pay for this course?
What happens if I can鈥檛 make a live session?
I work full-time, what is the expected time commitment?
What鈥檚 the refund policy?

Stay in the loop

Sign up to be the first to know about course updates.

A pattern of wavy dots
Be the first to know about upcoming cohorts

Data Mastery for Product Managers

|

Bulk purchases